Mayer, 17, earns upset Trucks win

(AP Photo/Steve Helber)

BRISTOL, Tenn. (AP) Sam Mayer celebrated his recent promotion to JR Motorsports with a sweep at Bristol Motor Speedway. The teen sensation opened Thursday night with his first NASCAR national series victory with a Truck Series win and followed it immediately after with an ARCA Series win.

It was quite the party for the 17-year-old Mayer, who was hired this week to race in the Xfinity Series next season for JR Motorsports. He won in his seventh career Truck Series start - fourth this year - for an upset in the opening race of the playoffs.

Mayer passed title contender and teammate Brett Moffitt with 30 laps remaining to score the victory for GMS Racing. He's the second youngest Truck Series winner behind Cole Custer, who was 16 when he won at New Hampshire in 2014.

Read More...

NASCAR Schedule
NASCAR CupBass Pro Shops NRA Night RaceSep. 194:30 PT5:30 MT6:30 CT7:30 ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 北京时间4:30 MST5:30 CST6:30 EST3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 CT1:30 CET20:30 BRT TV: NBCSN
XFINITYFood City 300Sep. 184:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 北京时间4:00 MST5:00 CST6:00 EST3:00 UAE (+1)6:00 CT1:00 CET20:00 BRT TV: NBCSN
Gander RV & Outdoors TruckWorld of Westgate 200Sep. 256:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET21:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST7:00 CST8:00 EST5:00 UAE (+1)8:00 CT3:00 CET22:00 BRT TV: FS1
NASCAR Leaders: Points
RankDriverPointsWins
1 K.Harvick 2143 8
2 D.Hamlin 2122 6
3 B.Keselowski 2112 4
4 J.Logano 2109 2
5 M.Truex Jr. 2096 1
6 A.Dillon 2094 1
7 C.Elliott 2086 2
8 A.Bowman 2085 1
9 K.Busch 2076 0
10 A.Almirola 2065 0
11 K.Busch 2065 0
12 C.Bowyer 2061 0
View Full Leaderboard

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFROM is strictly prohibited.