MLB Baseball

#40
Luis Severino
ERA W-L K
3.38 18-8 213
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-2 / 218
Position: SPBorn: 2/20/1994 Birthplace: Sabana de la Mar, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 19 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 18-8, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 10-1 on Wednesday. Severino struck out six, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 17-8, allowing one run on four hits in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Minnesota Twins 3-1 on Wednesday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Luis Severino fell to 17-7, allowing six runs - five earned - on six hits and one walk in 2.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-2 on Wednesday. Severino struck out three, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed three runs on six hits in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-5 on Friday. Severino struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)10:32 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 17-6, allowing three runs - two earned - on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-3 on Sunday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 16-6, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 11-6 on Saturday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 15-6, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the New York Mets 8-5 on Monday. Severino struck out six, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 15-5, allowing three runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-3 on Wednesday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST7:30 PM CST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 14-5, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Friday. Severino struck out two, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 14-4, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 10-5 on Saturday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 14-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on 11 hits in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-6 on Monday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 18 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 8-6 on Tuesday. Severino struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 12 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-4 on Thursday. Severino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST5:40 PM CST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 14-2, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-5 on Saturday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
July 1 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 13-2, allowing two hits and three walks over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 11-1 on Sunday. Severino struck out six, ending the game with a 1.98 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
June 26 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 12-2, allowing six hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-0 on Tuesday. Severino struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.10 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 21 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 11-2, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Thursday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 2.24 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST2:01 PM CST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 10-2, allowing three hits and two walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-1 on Saturday. Severino struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.09 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 9-2, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the New York Mets 2-0 on Sunday. Severino struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.27 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 4 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 9-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits in 8.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-4 on Monday. Severino struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He is 7-0 in 10 starts since losing at Boston on April 10.
May 30 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 8-1, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 5-3 on Wednesday. Severino struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Severino won his sixth consecutive decision. The ace right-hander, who hasn't lost since April 10 at Boston, threw a five-hitter with 10 strikeouts for his first career complete game in a 4-0 victory at Houston on May 2.
May 25 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed one run on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 2-1 on Friday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 7-1, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-3 on Saturday. Severino struck out six, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
May 13 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 6-1, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-2 on Sunday. Severino struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.14 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed two runs on six hits in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Tuesday. Severino struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.21 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 5-1, allowing five hits and one walk in a complete-game shutout, as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 4-0 on Wednesday. Severino struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.11 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Severino threw 110 pitches in his 60th major league start, earning his third straight win. He was still throwing 99 mph in the ninth inning as he polished off New York's third complete game over the last three seasons. The 24-year-old righty became the youngest Yankees pitcher to toss a shutout since Sterling Hitchcock, who was also 24, in 1995.
Apr. 28 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Luis Severino allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Friday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 4-1, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-1 on Sunday. Severino struck out six, ending the game with a 2.32 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 3-1, allowing one hit and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Miami Marlins 12-1 on Monday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 2-1, allowing five runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 14-1 on Tuesday. Severino struck out six, ending the game with a 3.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST3:24 PM CST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-2 on Wednesday. Severino struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.38 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST5:02 PM CST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 1-0, allowing one hit and three walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-1 on Thursday. Severino struck out seven, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 17 10:46 AM PT11:46 AM MT12:46 PM CT1:46 PM ET13:46 ET17:46 GMT1:46 10:46 AM MST12:46 PM EST11:46 AM CST1:16 PM VEN21:46 UAE11:46 AM CT-Severino will start the New York Yankees' regular-season opener March 29th at Toronto.
Analysis: Severino was third in the AL Cy Young Award voting after going 14-6 with a 2.98 ERA in 31 starts last season. Severino will be followed in the rotation by Masahiro Tanaka, CC Sabathia, Sonny Gray and Jordan Montgomery.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 NYY 5 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 62.1 53 21 20 9 22 0 56 1.20 2.89
2016 NYY 3 8 0 - 0 22 11 0 71.0 78 48 46 11 25 1 66 1.45 5.83
2017 NYY 14 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 193.1 150 73 64 21 51 0 230 1.04 2.98
2018 NYY 18 8 0 - 0 31 31 1 186.1 169 74 70 19 43 0 213 1.14 3.38
Career 40 25 0 - 0 95 84 1 513.0 450 216 200 60 141 1 565 1.15 3.51

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYY 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 NYY 31 5 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2018 NYY 31 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 95 12 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .083 .083 .083

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 NYY Total 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 16.0 13 10 10 5 8 0 12 5.40
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 0.1 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 81.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 3 3 2 1 0 9 3.86
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 5 4 4 1 6 0 3 4.15
Career 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 16.0 13 10 10 5 8 0 12 5.63


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1537 101 94 97.7 50.31
Slider 1110 94 82 88 36.33
Changeup 408 92 76 88.1 13.36

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.