MLB Baseball

#33
Kwang Hyun Kim
ERA S K
3.53 1 80
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195
Position: RPBorn: 7/22/1988 Birthplace: Seoul, South Korea
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2019)


Latest News
Sep. 25 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 7-7, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-5 on Saturday. Kim did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-5 on Thursday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST9:55 PM CST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim recorded his first save, allowing two runs - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 7-6 on Tuesday. Kim did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed two runs on two hits in 1.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Tuesday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 6-7, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 1.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0 on Saturday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)2:13 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Sunday. Kim struck out three, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim walked two and didn't allow a hit in 2.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-3 on Tuesday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST4:05 PM CST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Kim (elbow inflammation) came off the injured list Sunday and will spend the rest of the season as a reliever.
Analysis: Kim was having a solid season before landing on the injured list Aug. 9, as he's 6-6 with a 3.36 ERA in 19 starts.
Aug. 7 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Saturday. Kim struck out three, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 6-6, allowing five runs on five hits and one walk in 2.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-2 on Wednesday. Kim did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 22 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 6-5, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Thursday. Kim struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 17 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 5-5, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Saturday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 4-5, allowing five hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-0 on Saturday. Kim struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 5 6:15 PM PT7:15 PM MT8:15 PM CT9:15 PM ET21:15 ET1:15 GMT9:15 6:15 PM MST8:15 PM EST7:15 PM CST8:45 PM VEN5:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 3-5, allowing three hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Monday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)2:40 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 2-5, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-4 on Wednesday. Kim struck out five, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 26 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4 on Friday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
June 20 6:11 PM PT7:11 PM MT8:11 PM CT9:11 PM ET21:11 ET1:11 GMT9:11 6:11 PM MST8:11 PM EST7:11 PM CST8:41 PM VEN5:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-5, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 1-0 on Sunday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on three hits and five walks in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Tuesday. Kim struck out six, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 4 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Kim (back stiffness) has been removed from the injured list and will start Tuesday against the Marlins.
Analysis: Kim (1-4, 4.05) will wind up missing only one start. The Korean lefty had been struggling prior to landing on the IL, as he's posted a 6.59 ERA while losing each of his last three starts.
May 30 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-2 on Sunday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Monday. Kim struck out five, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 16 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-1, allowing four runs - one earned - on two hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Sunday. Kim struck out three, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Tuesday. Kim struck out six, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 5 4:57 PM PT5:57 PM MT6:57 PM CT7:57 PM ET19:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST5:57 PM CST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-1 on Wednesday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on seven hits in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Thursday. Kim struck out four, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 1-0, allowing one run on five hits in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Friday. Kim struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-4 on Saturday. Kim struck out four, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 27 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Kim (back) has been activated from the injured list and will make his season debut Saturday against the Phillies.
Analysis: The Korean import is now healthy after missing some time in spring training and will attempt to build off a strong first season in the majors. Kim went 3-0 with a 1.62 ERA and a 1.03 WHIP in eight starts and one relief outing during the shortened 2020 season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2020 StL 3 0 1 - 1 8 7 0 39.0 28 9 7 3 12 2 24 1.03 1.62
2021 StL 7 7 1 - 1 26 21 0 104.2 96 46 41 12 38 2 80 1.28 3.53
Career 10 7 2 - 2 34 28 0 143.2 124 55 48 15 50 4 104 1.21 3.01

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 StL 26 26 0 3 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .115 .148 .154
Career 34 26 0 3 1 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .115 .148 .154

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 732 93 84 89.1 41.71
Curveball 153 75 65 69.6 8.72
Slider 665 89 72 83.5 37.89
Changeup 205 85 75 80.4 11.68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.