MLB Baseball

#67
John Means
ERA S K
3.61 0 95
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230
Position: RPBorn: 4/24/1993 Birthplace: Olathe, Kansas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 11th Round by Orioles (2014)


Latest News
Aug. 24 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-John Means improved to 9-9, allowing one run on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-1 on Saturday. Means struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-John Means fell to 8-9, allowing three runs - two earned - on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-4 on Monday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-John Means fell to 8-8, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 8-3 on Tuesday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-John Means fell to 8-7, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 14-2 on Wednesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 26 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Means (strained left biceps) has been activated from the injured list to start Wednesday's game against the Yankees.
Analysis: Means, Baltimore's best pitcher this season, returns from a two-week absence and gets the unenviable task of attempting to slow down a Yankee offense that's belted 11 home runs over the first two games of this series.
July 24 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-John Means fell to 8-6, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-2 on Wednesday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 19 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-John Means improved to 8-5, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 11-2 on Friday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-John Means fell to 7-5, allowing six runs on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 12-4 on Saturday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-John Means allowed three runs - two earned - on six hits in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 9-6 on Wednesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-John Means improved to 7-4, allowing one hit and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Cleveland Indians 13-0 on Friday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 20 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST3:00 PM CST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Means (strained right shoulder) has been activated from the injured list and will start Friday against the Indians.
Analysis: Means will wind up missing only one turn through the rotation. One of the bright spots in another dismal season in Baltimore, the lefty has delivered a solid 2.86 ERA and 1.16 WHIP in 12 starts.
June 16 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST3:59 PM CST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-6 on Sunday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-John Means improved to 6-4, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Tuesday. Means struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-John Means allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Wednesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 29 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-John Means allowed one run on three hits in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Wednesday. Means struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 25 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-John Means allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-6 on Friday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-4, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Saturday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 12 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-John Means improved to 5-3, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Sunday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 6 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-John Means improved to 4-3, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Monday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-John Means fell to 3-3, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-3 on Monday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-John Means improved to 3-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Wednesday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-John Means improved to 2-2, allowing no hits and one walk over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Thursday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-John Means fell to 1-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-0 on Sunday. Means struck out three, ending the game with a 1.98 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-John Means fell to 1-1, allowing five runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 13-2 on Tuesday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-John Means did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 6-4 on Saturday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-John Means walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 8-4 on Thursday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST6:14 PM CST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-John Means improved to 1-0, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 7-5 on Sunday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.1 6 5 5 1 0 0 4 1.80 13.50
2019 Bal 9 9 0 - 0 25 21 0 117.1 107 53 47 17 32 0 95 1.18 3.61
Career 9 9 0 - 0 26 21 0 120.2 113 58 52 18 32 0 99 1.20 3.88

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Bal 25 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
Career 26 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1114 95 88 91.9 51.72
Curveball 106 79 73 76.1 4.92
Slider 311 88 79 83.4 14.44
Changeup 623 85 75 80.8 28.92

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.